Board of Directors

Thank you to the following individuals who volunteer their time and resources to TheatreOne.


President - Wendy Smitka

Vice-President - Judith Gibson

Judith has been on the Board of TheatreOne for eight years. Now retired, she had a varied career including a stint in the federal public service, a decade with the Conference Board of Canada and a number of years working independently as a facilitator, trainer and writer. She has a Masters Degree in Public Administration, is a certified Myers Briggs administrator, and has done extensive training in facilitation.

Treasurer - Cathy Watts

Cathy has lived in Nanaimo all of her adult life.  She has been happily retired for the past seven years.  Previously to that Cathy had a wonderful career with Coastal Community Credit Union for twenty-nine years.  Most of those years were spent managing one branch or another.  She likes working with people whether it be staff or members.  While working for the Credit Union Cathy was also on the Board of Nanaimo Family Life and Theatre One so she really understands the commitment needed to be a board member and likes to give back to the community.

Cathy has two children, both married, that produced the three best things in Cathy's life - grandchildren!!!  She spends many hours with her grandkids camping, walking and going to the park.  Cathy also likes to paint and travel when she can fit it in!

Secretary - Sharon Redmond

Director - Rhonda Atlas-Snell

Director - Ian Burnett

Ian has been on the board of TheatreOne for seven years. He retired five years ago from Island Hearing (now Connect Hearing) after twenty four years as an office manager and hearing instrument specialist. Prior to this he worked as a child-care worker, then skipper of commercial salmon trollers. A former sub-three hour marathoner, he also has a little acting experience, is a would-be writer, and an avid hiker and kayaker.  He has a strong interest in personal development and is always learning. He has two successful grown children and two grandchildren aged two and seventeen.

Director - Leonie Gardner

Leonie Gardner has had a wide and varied career in the Arts in England and Canada, as an actress on stage, in film & television and as a stage director. She has conducted numerous seminars and workshops in voice and acting for universities, colleges, schools, theatre companies, corporations and for individuals. She also held the position of Professor in voice & acting in the theatre department of the University of Ottawa. She was founder and artistic director of Stage Studio Ottawa whose mandate was to showcase new plays and emerging talent.

Her extensive knowledge of theatre and the business industry led her to open Image Development Services delivering acting and vocal based skills to business executives, politicians and teachers. In this capacity she has given workshops at Algonquin College, Carleton University, government departments, private Institutions and corporations. In 1999 she was named Woman of Influence in the Nation’s Capital by Ottawa Life magazine for her success in operating her company First Stage Talent Agency.

Leonie has served on numerous boards including The Ottawa Little Theatre and OHFTA (the Ottawa Hull Film & Television Association) The Key City Theatre and The Nanaimo Arts Council. She was director of The National Canadian One Act Playwriting Competition and she has served on award jury panels for ACTRA, the City of Ottawa Cultural Assistance Program, the Ottawa Arts Funding Program and C.C.T.V. Galaxi Pay TV & Specialty Awards.

Leonie graduated from The Birmingham School of Speech & Drama, with a degree in drama & speech. She later went on to receive a degree in ‘theatre in education’ from Kings Alfred College.

Since moving to Nanaimo in 2004 she has conducted voice workshops for Theatre BC’s Mainstage 05, and participated in numerous staged readings at the Theatre Centre on Gabriola Island under the direction of Antony Holland and for TheatreOne Emerging Voices. In June of 2013 she directed Same Time Next Year which was presented at the Yacht Club, Nanaimo as a joint fund raiser for TheatreOne and the Rotary Club of Nanaimo North. She presently sits on the board of TheatreOne.

Director – Julian Smither

Julian was born and educated in England and started his career with the BBC in film and television production. He arrived in Canada in 1968 and worked for the CBC in Toronto, as a TV Director and TV Producer, then on to Calgary in the early 1970s where he helped establish the Communications Media Department at the University of Calgary. Julian taught film and television production in extension courses for the City of Toronto and at the University of Calgary. In 1978 he became Director of Television for the Alberta Access TV Network. In 1985 he joined The Image Works Alberta Inc. (Edmonton) as their Vice-President. While in Alberta he was on the board of both the Alberta Recording Industry Association and the Alberta Motion Picture Industry Association. In 2006 he retired to Nanaimo.

(C) TheatreOne 2014
Office Address: Centre for the Arts - 60 Wharf St. Nanaimo BC.
Mailing Address: 150 Commercial St. Nanaimo, BC V9R 5G6
Phone: 250.754.7587 Fax: 250.754.9908
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 10am - 4pm